Asset 1

Grand National Free Bets 2022

Run on April 9 in 2022 at Aintree, the Grand National is the greatest steeplechase in the world...

Grand National Free Bets 2021

The Grand National is a hugely important race in the national hunt calendar, one that grips the nation and one that offers great free bets and bonuses to customers who wish to get involved.  

The 2021 race was won by Minella Times, and attention has already turned to 2022, when the race will be ran on Saturday, April 9.

Grand National Betting Offers for 2022

The Grand National is such a big contest that bookmakers and punters think about it for almost 12 months of the year.

Even during the summer when attention is on flat racing, there will be people thinking about what will win the next Grand National, and trainers plotting a path for their horses to Aintree.

Betting offers are available with bookmakers throughout the year, and these can be used to place wagers on big upcoming events, such as the Grand National 2022.

  • 888sport Bet £10 Get £30 + £10 on Horse Racing claim £30
    New customers only – €10 deposit using promo code "RACING" - First bet must be placed on any market - Minimum stake £10 at odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & Full T&C’s apply
  • Betdaq Best Odds Guaranteed by BetDAQ claim £10
    18+ only. Bet type restrictions apply. Offer cap £/€25K per customer per day. Bets placed after kickoff don't qualify. T&Cs Apply.

The Red Rum Story

Few horses have captured the imagination of the British public like Red Rum and decades after his achievements he is still the biggest name in Aintree folklore. 

From his humble beginnings on the Southport sands, “Rummy” overcame adversity to become the greatest equine competitor the National has ever seen.

His guts, power, and natural speed contributed to his first Grand National victory in 1973. The very next year he returned to do it all over again.

In the intervening two years, Red Rum finished runner-up both times. When he came back for the 1977 renewal as a 12-year-old, many people believed he was too long in the tooth – how very wrong they were!

Red Rum demolished his rivals by a remarkable 25 lengths on that Saturday afternoon, landing his third Grand National win and writing him and Ginger McCain into the history books.

For the full list of grand national 2021 Betting offers please visit grand national free bets List.

The Lure Of The Outsider

The Grand National is often dubbed “the ultimate test for horse and rider”, but it should also carry the alternative mantle of “the ultimate test of the punter against the bookie”. Everybody likes to try and find an outsider lurking lower down in the Grand National betting odds somewhere, but that is easier said than done.

The race itself has produced its fair share of ‘shock’ victories. Since its inaugural running in 1839, five winners of the National have been returned at treble-figure odds, all at 100/1, all sharing the distinction of being the longest-priced winner.

The first 100/1 winner came in 1928 and was followed in the very next year by the second, Gregalach. In 1947 Caughoo scored a 20-length success and twenty years later, a fortuitous Foinavon avoided the melee of all melees and went on to scoop the first prize.

Fast-forward to 2009 and Mon Mome completed the quintet of 100/1 winners, scoring a 12-length victory under an excellent ride from the late Liam Treadwell.

Aldaniti & Bob Champion 

There was barely a dry eye in the house when in 1981 Aldaniti and Bob Champion came home in front. The reason? Well two years prior to the race, Champion was given just eight months to live.

The jockey had been diagnosed with cancer at the age of 32, but trainer Josh Gifford kept Champion’s job open for him. Champion responded well to the chemotherapy sessions and the rest is history. They even made a film about it!

Previous Grand National Winners

  • 2020 – Minella Times – Rachel Blackmore – Henry de Bromhead – 11/1
  • 2020 – Race cancelled due to Covid-19
  • 2019 – Tiger Roll – Davy Russell – Gordon Elliott – 4/1 F
  • 2018 – Tiger Roll – Davy Russell – Gordon Elliott – 10/1
  • 2017 – One For Arthur – Derek Fox – Lucinda Russell – 14/1
  • 2016 – Rule The World – David Mullins – Mouse Morris – 33/1
  • 2015 – Many Clouds – Leighton Aspell – Oliver Sherwood – 25/1
  • 2014 – Pineau De Re – Leighton Aspell – Richard Newland – 25/1
  • 2013 – Auroras Encore – Ryan Mania – Sue Smith – 66/1
  • 2012 – Neptunes Collonges – Daryl Jacob – Paul Nicholls – 33/1
  • 2011 – Ballabriggs – Jason Maguire – Donald McCain Jr. – 14/1
  • 2010 – Don’t Push It – Tony McCoy – Jonjo O’Neill – 10/1 JF

Horse Racing Betting Tips

Grand National Facts

A little-known fact, although commonly known as the Aintree Grand National, the race has not always been staged at the fabled Liverpool racecourse.  For three years during WWI, and because of the intervention of the war, the race was staged at Gatwick racecourse. Alas that venue now has an airport on top of it!

* Grand National betting odds quoted were correct at the time of article publication