Crystal Palace 2018/19

Crystal Palace FC, known by their nickname the Eagles, are a Premier League club. Formed in 1905, the South London outfit have played their matches at Selhurst Park throughout their history; the stadium holds 27,000 people. They are co-owned by American businessmen Joshua Harris and David Blitzer and chairman Steve Parish, who sold a stake the club in 2015. Palace were promoted a year earlier and have established themselves as a solid club in the division over the past few years. Crystal Palace are yet Ian Weigjtto win a major trophy, having finished third in 1990-91 before being relegated in the first ever Premier League season with a record number of points, 49. They reached the FA Cup final in 2015, losing to Manchester United.

Notable former players for Palace include Ian Wright, who started his career at Selhurst Park before going on to become Arsenal’s record goalscorer, Mark Bright and Andrew Johnson, who scored 21 league goals in 2004/05. Their all time record goalscorer is Peter Simpson, who scored 165 goals in just six years between 1929 and 1935, while Jim Cannon holds the record for the most appearances having played 660 games between 1973.

Crystal Palace’s traditional home shirts are red and blue stripes, but that wasn’t always the case. Before 1973, they played in claret and blue stripes. Despite being located in London and playing in close proximity to a number of clubs including Chelsea, Arsenal and Tottenham, their main rivals are Brighton, with that match often being dubbed the “M23 Derby”. They do have rivalries with more local teams like Charlton Athletic and Millwall, but the lack of matches with them means they are not as intense as they once were.

Premier League Free Betting Offers & Odds

Crystal Palace squad 2018/19

Goalkeepers: Julian Speroni, Wayne Hennessey, Vicente Guaita

Defenders: Joel Ward, Patrick van Aanholt, Scott Dann, Mamadou Sakho, Papa Soare, Jeffrey Schlupp, Jaroslaw Jach, Martin Kelly, Jairo Riedewald

Midfielders: James McArthur, Jonny Williams, Luka Milivojevic, Erdal Rakip, Aaron Wan-Bisaka, Nya Kirby, Chekhou Kouyate, Andros Townsend, Jason Puncheon, Max Meyer

Forwards: Alexander Sorloth, Wilfried Zaha, Christian Benteke, Connor Wickham, Sullay Kaikai, Levi Lumeka

Crystal Palace 2018/19 predictions

It’s going to be a tough season for all involved in Crystal Palace this season. Last year, under the stewardship of Frank De Boer and then Roy Hodgson, they made the worst ever start to a Premier League season of all time, losing their first seven games without scoring a goal. De Boer was hired last season but only lasted four games, making his the shortest reign in the league’s history. Hodgson made a real difference, steering them clear of trouble, but Palace are one of a number of teams that should be wary of the drop this term, especially because others expected to be in the battle have added more to their squad.

Other than goalkeeper Vicente Guaita and Chekhou Kouyate, Palace have not added to their squad. While keeping Wilfried Zaha would constitute a victory in itself, the Ivorian is keen to leave. If he does, even for a hefty fee, it may be too late to replace him properly. At this point, it is tough to see them doing much other than surviving, but losing Zaha could be a disastrous.

Crystal Palace 2018/19 best offers

Crystal Palace to get relegated @ 11/2 with Betfair

Top half finish @ 2/1

Roy Hodgson to leave before May @ 17/10