What Lionel Messi Said To The Referee After Disallowed Goal Against Valenica
Barcelona’s 1-1 draw against title rivals Valencia on Sunday was marred by controversy on Sunday, when the officials disallowed a Lionel Messi goal despite replays showing the ball clearly went over the line. The Argentine’s conversation with the referee has now been revealed.
LaLiga is still waiting for goal-line technology, something that has been in action in the Premier League for a number of years now. The Blaugrana will feel hard done by, with the decision costing them two points which would have stretched their lead at the top further.
LADBROKES HAVE YOU COVERED
Messi was obviously not happy, and he made that clear to the man in the middle, saying: “You’re wrong, and now you are going to see it (on the replay).”
No goal line technology in La Liga. Messi goal not given. Pathetic !!!!!!!! pic.twitter.com/Sv6jdF3SBH— TheWelshDragon ? (@TheWelshDragon9) November 26, 2017
The referee’s reply stated because neither he nor his assistant could be sure, he couldn’t give the goal, but the linesman was not in line with the play and has subsequently been criticised.
The lack of technology arguably cost Barcelona the title last season after a similar incident against Real Betis. Surely it is time Spanish football got with the times?