La Liga dominates UEFA Team of the Year as Premier League quality again called into question

Share this on

Ballon d’Or winner Cristiano Ronaldo was the headline name in UEFA’s Team of the Year announcement, with the Portuguese forward being joined by no less than seven other Spain-based players in a La Liga dominated XI.

Top Free Bets

  • Euro 2016 Bet365 £200 Bonus Bet365 Up To £100 in Bet Credits! £100 T&Cs Apply
    New bet365 customers only. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply.
  • Paddy Power Free Bets - Paddy Power Get £20 Risk Free Bet £20 T&Cs Apply
    New customers only, limited to one per person. If you’ve previously had a Paddy Power account, you will not qualify for the offer. Place your FIRST bet on any Sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is €20. Only deposits made using Cards or Paypal will qualify for this promotion.
  • Coral Get Up to £30 Free Bet £30 T&Cs Apply
    Minimum Deposit and Stake £10. Free Bets Credited as 3x£10. Free Bet Stake Not Returned. Free Bet Valid For 4 Days. 18+. Terms and Conditions Apply.
  • Betfair Grab an Exclusive £100 Free Bets £100 T&Cs Apply
    New Customer offer. Place 5 x €10 or more bets to receive €20 in free bets. Repeat up to 5 times to receive maximum €100 bonus. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Exchange bets excluded. T&Cs apply
  • 10Bet free bet bonus - 10Bet 50% Up To £100 Bonus £100 T&Cs Apply
    New Customers only | Min. deposit £15 (no Skrill/Neteller) | Bonus amount is 50% of deposit | 1x deposit turnover (min. odds 3/5) for bonus receipt | 5x deposit and bonus turnover in 90 days for bonus release | Each bet contributes max 50% of bonus amount for turnover | Withdrawals limitations | Terms apply | 18+
  • 888 sport free bets logo - 888sport Bet £10 Get £30 Free Bets £30 T&Cs Apply
    New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30f - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns -Deposit method and withdrawal restrictions apply - full T&C’s apply
  • Ladbrokes Free Bet Ladbrokes Up To £20 in Free Bets £20 T&Cs Apply
    18+. New customers only. Promo code 'F50' required. Certain deposit methods excluded. Min £/€5 on win or each-way bet excluding Tote or pools = match max £/€50 free bet. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Bet must be made within 14 days. Free bet valid for 4 days. Free bet stake not returned. Single bets only. Free bet cannot be used on certain markets. T&Cs apply.
  • Genting Free Bet Genting Bet £10 Risk Free Bet + £50 Casino Bonus £10 T&Cs Apply
  • Boylesports Free Bets & Bonuses - Boylesports Get £25 in Free Bets! £25 T&Cs Apply
    18+. Min odds Evs. First bet only. 30 days to qualify. Free bets expire in 7 days. Payment method restrictions. IRE/NI customers only. T&Cs apply.
  • BetVictor Get £60 Bonus on First Deposit £60 T&Cs Apply
    New Customers Only; Bet £10; Receive £30 in Free Sports Bet (split into 3 x bets of £10 each) and £10 Free Casino Bonus; Wagering requirements apply; Credit or Debit Card deposits only; 18+; T&C apply;

Chosen by readers, the team features stars from three separate leagues, including the Bundesliga and Serie A, but for the third consecutive year there was no Premier League representation.

Leading the way in terms of popularity in the vote was Real Madrid captain Sergio Ramos, who was selected by a whopping 75% of respondents after leading his side to glory in both the Champions League and the Club World Cup.

The Spaniard narrowly edged out Ronaldo (69%) as the most popular player, with Barcelona’s Lionel Messi also proving to be a hit with voters.

So without further ado, here’s the team in full, lining up in a 4-3-3 formation.

Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus)

The Italian veteran pipped Manuel Neuer to the goalkeeping jersey following a sublime season that saw him roll back the years to star for club and country.

Juventus' Gianluigi Buffon celebrates his side's second goal.

Defence: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus), Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munich), Gerard Pique (Barcelona)

Top pick Ramos was joined by Juventus’ Leonardo Bonucci (40%), Barcelona’s Gerard Pique (39%) and German player of the year Jerome Boateng (37%) in a defence comprised entirely of centre-backs.

Leonardo Bonucci Euros

Midfield: Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Toni Kroos, Luka Modric (both Real Madrid)

Luka Modric (59%) and Toni Kroos’ (41%) exploits in the centre of the park for Real Madrid saw them take two well-deserved spots in the UEFA Team of the Year midfield, with Barca creator-in-chief Andres Iniesta (51%) once again making the cut after helping the Blaugrana to the La Liga title.

Toni Kroos Euros

Attack: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)

Ballon d’Or top three Cristiano Ronaldo (69%), Lionel Messi (64%) and Antoine Griezmann (31%) were chosen to lead the attack of UEFA’s star-studded XI for 2016. But while the first two received an overwhelming plebiscite, Griezmann’s place was far less assured. Golden Shoe winner Luis Suarez can perhaps feel hard done by following a stellar 2015/16 for Barcelona.

Messi 1

[tweet shortcode="tweet"]
Share this on