PL Darts

2016 Betway Premier League Darts

Michael van Gerwen, Phil Taylor and Gary Anderson are among the big favourites to take home the title.

When Is The Premier League Darts 2016 Played?

The Betway Premier League Darts 2016 starts on February 4th in Leeds and takes place every Thursday throughout February, March, April and half of May.  It concludes, at London’s O2 Arena on Thursday May 19th.

Premier League Darts results – Roll of Honour

2005 Phil Taylor beat Colin Lloyd 16-4

2006 Phil Taylor beat Roland Scholten 16-6

2007 Phil Taylor beat Terry Jenkins 16-6

2008 Phil Taylor beat James Wade 16-8

2009 James Wade beat Mervyn King 13-8

2010 Phil Taylor beat James Wade 10-8

2011 Gary Anderson beat Adrian Lewis 10-4

2012 Phil Taylor beat Simon Whitlock 10-7

2013 Michael van Gerwen beat Phil Taylor 10-8

2014 Raymond van Barneveld beat Michael van Gerwen 10-6

2015 Gary Anderson beat Michael van Gerwen 11-7

How To Bet On The Premier League Darts 2016

There will be a feast of Betway Premier League Darts betting opportunities for armchair punters since darts has become an immensely popular betting medium.  Resultantly the majority of online bookmakers will feature various Premier League free bet offers as they strive to attract your business.

Make no mistake Premier League Darts online betting is big business as there is a multitude of pre-match darts betting markets creating substantial turnover which is then matched by in-play betting.  Anyone that is familiar with ‘the arrers’ will know that in-running betting on darts is both manic and very exciting as fortunes can change in seconds.

Among the more popular darts bets on the Premier League markets are Correct Score, Player to Score the Most 180’s, Player to Record the Highest Check-Out, the First Player to Score a 180, the Total Number of Legs and a whole lot more.

Some are certainly more fanciful than others but the Handicap market makes a lot of sense as this competition, unique in darts, does feature the possibility of a drawn match.  The Handicap market, which adds or removes +0.5, +1.5 and +2.5 to a player’s score, eliminates this ‘third outcome’ which is unwelcome with many punters.

Premier League Darts Betting Odds

The Premier League Darts betting market has a distinctive two-halves look to it.  With Michael van Gerwen the top-priced 5/4 (BetVictor) favourite to win the competition and defending champion Gary Anderson a best-priced 4/1 second favourite (Betfred), this duo take over 60% of the book.  In other words it is odds-on one of the pair will win this year’s Darts Premier League.

The bottom of the outright winner betting lists are populated by Raymond van Barneveld and Robert Thornton, a 100/1 shot who you would struggle to back even with a Premier League Darts free bet.

The Betway Premier League Darts odds (with where to shop for the best prices) at the time of writing are:

  • Michael van Gerwen – 5/4       BetVictor
  • Gary Anderson – 4/1       BetFred
  • Phil Taylor – 9/1       SportingBet
  • Adrian Lewis – 16/1    SportingBet
  • Peter Wright – 20/1    Bwin
  • Dave Chisnall – 20/1    William Hill
  • James Wade – 33/1    SportingBet
  • Michael Smith – 33/1    SportingBet
  • Raymond van Barneveld – 40/1    SportingBet
  • Robert Thornton – 100/1  SportingBet

Premier League Darts Betting Tips

Stay away from Correct Score Premier League darts bets involving a ‘to nil’ scoreline.  There have only ever been five whitewashes in the history of this tournament. Additionally, ignore the prospect of a 6-6 draw at your peril. Around 18% of all Premier League Darts matches have been drawn matches.

If three-way markets, which feature the likelihood of drawn matches are not to your liking, play the darts handicap markets.  Do make sure to scout out the best Premier League Darts odds however as these can vary wildly from firm to firm.

If you receive any Premier League Darts free bets do not be ashamed to ‘arb’ your position to ensure a profit.  Just like a bookmaker your primary role in betting should be making money.

Where To Watch The Premier League Darts 2016 Live?

The 2016 Premier League Darts fixtures, in order, are: Leeds, Newcastle, Dublin, Aberdeen, Exeter, Nottingham, Glasgow, Liverpool, Cardiff, Sheffield, Belfast, Bournemouth, Birmingham, Manchester, Rotterdam and London.

Premier League Darts tickets may be found online but generally they are sold-out long before game night.

Domestically the games are broadcast live on Sky Sports while supplies highlights packages and lots of exclusive interviews and darts news items.

Who Are The Main Contenders?

Michael van Gerwen (MVG) swept all before him in last year’s Premier League Darts.  The Dutchman topped the table for 14 of the 16 weeks, winning 10 of his 16 matches and drawing three others.

However, at the all-important final he was beaten, by an authoritative 11-legs-to-7, by Gary Anderson.  This supports a theory that MVG’s game is more suited to a quick format while Anderson, the reigning World Champion, is better in ‘long games’.

One thing is for certain, when there are four players left on May 19th (Premier League Darts Finals Night) MVG is most likely going to be there. Will he then be shorter than 5/4 at that point?  Probably not.  Therefore, fancy his chances or not, there is very little point in backing him until much nearer the time.

Phil Taylor is the fly-in-the-ointment.  The multiple World Champion has been totally dismissed by Sportingbet but darts fans know Taylor has repeatedly made fools of those that have written him off in the past. I don’t think I am being nostalgic when suggesting Taylor can win a seventh Premier League Darts title and odds of 9/1 almost equates to a free bet.

Week on week there are always plenty of Premier League Darts betting previews and Premier League Darts tips available across all forms of media in the days leading up to Thursday night match times, in addition to our tipster page here on  Various Premier League Darts betting offers and Premier League Darts free bet offers are sure to be highlighted amongst those many such previews.