Football stars react to Donald Trump becoming President of the United States

Share this on

What once seemed like the exclusive scenario of nightmares is now a reality. Donald Trump is the next President of the United States. Woah, that’s going to take some getting used to. Like everyone else, footballers were shocked. They didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. Luckily, there were plenty of memes around to help with the former.

Top Free Bets

Footballers are often the targets of unathletic fingers of accusation about disillusionment with reality. This can be true but it’s a sweeping generalisation to state that all footballers only care about themselves and money. There are plenty who are attuned to what’s going on around them. Not that you need to have your finger on the pulse of politics to be aware of today’s events.

bet365 sports

The likes of Jan Vertonghen, Javi Martinez, Anders Lindegaard and Luis Saha took to Twitter to air their thoughts on a madman running the asylum. Look at their views – along with plenty of memes – in the tweets below.

 

Share this on

I predict the first female president in America is gonna be Kim Kardashian #KimKardashian2020

— Anders Lindegaard (@ALindegaard) November 9, 2016

Wtf.. Let's put all the idiots around the world in power and see what happens. Next gen reality TV. #SadWorld

— Vincent Kompany (@VincentKompany) November 9, 2016

BREAKING: Donald Trump wins the presidential election. pic.twitter.com/MXvN9jEmxl

— Football Stuff (@FootbalIStuff) November 9, 2016

we're still fighting for this title and he's got to go to Michigan and get something and I'll tell you I'll love it if we beat them, love it pic.twitter.com/GyV2zrPTB8

— Brazy (@brazyCuh) November 9, 2016

The scenes are unreal. pic.twitter.com/CCR5O03phA

— ???? #ForzaMilan (@RYOmoha) November 9, 2016

A £5 treble on:

- Leicester winning the PL ??
- Brexit happening ??
- Trump becoming president ??

...would have paid out £12.5m ??

— All Football News (@AllFootballLive) November 9, 2016

The Trump v Clinton football photoshops just keep on coming! pic.twitter.com/5pl4ZDmSQU

— 101 Great Goals (@101greatgoals) November 9, 2016

The end of my @MLS dream in the future???? #AmericanElection #EleccionesEEUU2016

— Javi Martínez (@Javi8martinez) November 9, 2016

Looks like Hillary Clinton & John Terry have a lot in common... They both slip up when it matters most ? ? pic.twitter.com/5g2FCAZj0V

— Freebets.co.uk (@freebetscouk) November 9, 2016

Would love to speak to someone who's actually pro Trump to see what's going on in their head but I just can't find them...

— Jan Vertonghen (@JanVertonghen) November 9, 2016

Can't believe what I'm seeing. This is so embarrassing #ElectionNight

— Jan Vertonghen (@JanVertonghen) November 9, 2016

Can you invite me. The world is f**k up. #ElectionNight #Trump #brexit #NoLoyalty #selfishnesshttps://t.co/hMevS4Lrj7

— Louis Saha (@louissaha08) November 9, 2016

The most Liverpool thing ever would be for them to be miles clear at the top of the Premier League in April, only for Trump to start WWIII.

— Coral (@Coral) November 9, 2016
", "url" : "http://www.freebets.co.uk/opinion/football-stars-react-donald-trump-becoming-president-united-states/", "publisher" : { "@type" : "Organization", "name" : "http://www.freebets.co.uk", "logo" : "" }, "headline": "" }