Rugby Six Nations

Rugby Union Six Nations 2016

Ireland once again the nation to beat as the RBS Six Nations gets underway on February 6th.

When Is The Rugby Six Nations 2016?

The Rugby Six Nations Championship 2016 will begin on Saturday 6th February and concludes on Saturday 19th March.

Rugby Six Nations – Most Wins?

Six Nations only:

  • France – 5
  • England – 4
  • Wales – 4
  • Ireland – 3

Overall (Home Nations, Five Nations and Six Nations):

  • England – 26 (+10 shared)
  • Wales – 26 (12)
  • France – 17 (8)
  • Scotland – 14 (8)
  • Ireland – 13 (9)

How To Bet On The Rugby Six Nations 2016

Rugby Six Nations betting will be available online, in High Street bookmakers and via your mobile.  The majority of online bookmakers will have various Rugby Six Nations free bets available to new and existing customers should they meet the qualifying criteria.

Six Nations online betting will be available ‘in-play’ for those who like to bet on the outcome of the match and the multitude of other available markets as it unfolds.

Among the Six Nations betting markets to consider are the First Scoring-Play (try, penalty, drop goal or penalty try); Total Points; Team to Score Next Try; First Try Scorer/ Anytime Try Scorer or perhaps a handicap bet so as to make the odds more appealing when there is a strong favourite involved.

With so much patriotic pride at stake, many will be looking to back their home nation both in individual matches and the Rugby Six Nations championship outright.  It can make a victory all the sweeter if you can back your team with a Six Nations free bet of course.

Rugby Six Nations Betting Odds

In a closely contested Rugby Six Nations betting market, England will go into the tournament as favourites, with Ireland and Wales vying for second spot in the betting.  The rank outsiders are Italy.  Those who like backing a big price winner may well fancy a Six Nations free bet on Italy in various markets during the tournament.  The current best available Rugby Six Nations odds are:

Rugby Six Nations Betting Tips

England will be desperate to make amends for a hugely disappointing Rugby World Cup on home soil and to gain revenge on a Wales team whose victory at Twickenham in their pool game was a significant factor in their early elimination.  Where they may have a slight advantage is that they face both their main rivals (based on the Six Nations betting odds), Ireland and Wales, at Twickenham.

As a major event in the annual sporting calendar, there are always plenty of betting previews and tips available across all forms of media and in the days and weeks leading up to the tournament.  Here at, Various Six Nations betting offers and Six Nations free bets will be highlighted among many such previews.

In addition, Rugby Six Nations free bets and Six Nations betting offers will be widely available and heavily promoted both ahead of and during this popular rugby tournament.

Where To Watch The Rugby Six Nations 2016 Live?

Even were you able to do so, it’s simply not viable to get Six Nations tickets for all matches due to conflicting kick-off times, so most people will be relying on TV coverage to follow the action.

A new TV contract splits coverage of the Rugby Six Nations fixtures between the BBC and ITV, with the former showing the home matches of France, Scotland and Wales and ITV having coverage from the home games of England, Ireland and Italy.

A few friends, beers, snacks and a Six Nations free bet or two can make a for a great afternoon’s entertainment whilst watching the action on TV.

Who Are The Main Contenders?

Ireland have been crowned champions for the past two years, but come into the Rugby Six Nations having ultimately disappointed at the Rugby Union World Cup where they again failed to progress beyond the quarter-final stage.  Having topped Pool D with a 100% record, they then lost 43:20 to Argentina.

Going into the Six Nations 2016, England have a new head coach in Eddie Jones, several new players and a point to prove following their disastrous showing as Rugby World Cup 2015 host nation.

Wales had a decent World Cup and have been consistent challengers in the Rugby Six Nations championship for several years now, winning the tournament in 2012 and 2013.

All three teams will be heavily backed, but Scotland were hugely impressive against Australia in the Rugby World Cup quarter-final and can’t be discounted.  They could be worth an interest with any available Six Nations free bets.

Rugby Six Nations 2016 History

The Rugby Six Nations Championship has been staged in various guises since 1883.  It began as a Home Nations Championship consisting of England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales.  England claimed the first championship after winning all three games.  

The scoring system back then was very different to today, with the match being decided by ‘goals’.  A ‘goal’ was awarded for a converted try, a drop goal or a ‘goal from mark’ (where a player had a free-kick that could be taken as a place, drop or tap lick, after catching the ball and shouting “marked” – similar to that still used in Australian Rules Football).  

Should the game finish level, a winner was decided on the number of unconverted tries scored.  If the scores were still level at this point, a draw would be declared.  In 1883 England beat Wales 2-0; Ireland 1-0 and, in the title decider, edged past Scotland courtesy of scoring two unconverted tries to one after a 0-0 draw.

The inclusion of France in 1910 resulted in the formation of the Five Nations Championship.  France were expelled from the tournament after the 1931 championship for alleged professionalism and administrative issues, meaning the competition reverted back to a Home Nations Championship until after WWII.

The Six Nations arose with the introduction of Italy in 2000 and there have been recent calls from some quarters to expand further with the inclusion of Georgia.